Republic of Singapore

Capital: Singapore

  • Population 5.3 million
  • Area 660 sq km (255 sq miles)
  • Major languagesEnglish, Malay, Mandarin, Tamil
  • Major religions Taoism, Buddhism, Islam, Christianity, Hinduism
  • Life expectancy 79 years (men), 84 years (women)
  • Currency Singapore dollar
Getty Images


President: Tony Tan

Singaporean President Tony TanImage copyrightGETTY IMAGES

Tan, a former deputy prime minister, won the 2011 presidential election by a narrow margin. He was seen as the establishment candidate.

All four candidates in the election – the first of its kind for 18 years – shared the same surname, Tan.

Presidential candidates run as individuals because Singapore’s head of state is supposed to be non-partisan.

Prime minister: Lee Hsien Loong

Singaporean Prime Minister Lee Hsien LoongImage copyrightGETTY IMAGES

The eldest son of Singapore’s founding father Lee Kuan Yew, Lee Hsien Loong has been in office since August 2004.

A former army officer and Cambridge-educated mathematician, he followed his father into politics in 1984 at the age of 32.

As prime minister, Mr Lee has launched policies to build a competitive economy, introducing new programmes to upgrade the education system, investing in research and development and transforming the city-state.


As the media hub for south-east Asia, Singapore is a strategic centre for the region’s English-speaking audience.

Its tightly-controlled media environment means self-censorship among journalists is common. There are also curbs on online content.


Some key dates in Singapore’s history:

Sir Thomas Stamford RafflesImage copyrightGETTY IMAGES
Image captionBritish administrator Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles oversaw the establishment of Singapore

1819 – Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles establishes Singapore as a trading post for the British East India Company.

1942 – Singapore falls to Japan during Second World War. The island is renamed Syonan-to or “Light of the South Island” in Japanese.

1945-46 – Japanese forces surrender. Singapore becomes a British colony.

1959 – Singapore holds first general election.

1963 – Singapore joins the Federation of Malaya, Sabah (North Borneo) and Sarawak in the Federation of Malaysia.

1965 – Declares independence from the Federation of Malaysia.

1990 – Singapore’s founding father Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew stands down after 31 years.

1993 – Singapore holds its first presidential election.

Comments are closed.